27 Nakshatra Basics

27 Nakshatra Basics:

Planets, Nature, Disposition, and Animal in visual coloured charts representing each nakshatra position.

For more about each sign: All About the 27 Nakshatras

27 Nakshatra Basics:


Sun: Blue. Moon: Purple. Mercury: Cyan. Venus: Green. Mars: Yellow. Jupiter: Orange. Saturn: Red. Rahu: Brown. Ketu: Grey.

27 Nakshatra Basics:

27 Nakshatra Basics:


Deva (god-like): White, Manushya (human): Grey, Rakshasa (demon): Black.

Deva: “Deva gana nature is humble, generous and kind-hearted. According to deva gana features, these persons possesses good temperament, good behaviour and tend to follow all the cultural rules and traditions. Deva gana people appreciate the good qualities of others and avoid getting into quarrels, and refrain from being envious.”

Manushya: “This gana gives the person a human nature. Manushya gana personality has have mixed qualities of the other two natures. Sometimes they may be very kind, and at times they may become vindictive. The person who belongs to this gana, will be religious and creative. However, it’s not necessary that the person will follow all the rules. In other words, natives of manushya gana like to make a living for themselves and their kin.”

Rakshasa: “This indicates the darker side of human nature. The one who belongs to rakshasa gana will be stubborn and rigid in nature. It is within the rakshas gana nature that this person may pick fights with others over petty issues.”

27 Nakshatra Basics:

27 Nakshatra Basics:


Chara (Movable): Brown, Sthira (Fixed): Blue, Mrdu (Tender): Yellow, Ugra (Violent): Green, Tikshna (Sharp): Cyan, Kshipra (Swift): Grey, Mishra (Mixed): Orange.

Chara – Movable: “They are auspicious for activities needing movements such as acquiring vehicles, gardening, going on procession, etc.”

Sthira / Druva – Fixed: “They are favourable for activities that require fixity such as coronations, laying the foundations of cities, sowing operations, planting trees, etc.”

Mrdu – Tender: “They are favourable for activities pertaining to subtle things such as wearing new apparel, learning dancing, music and fine arts, sexual union, performance of auspicious ceremonies, etc.”

Ugra – Violent: “They are favourable for activities that requires violence, force, weapons, confronting enemies etc. Activities such as demolishing a structure, setting fires, capturing others with force, battles etc, are favoured in this Nakshatra.”

Tikshna – Sharp: “They are favourable for destructive activities such as incantations, invoking spirits, imprisonment, murders (marana mantra), separation of friends (ucchatana mantra), etc.”

Kshipra – Swift: “They are favourable for activities involving swiftness such as putting ornaments, pleasures and sports, administering medicine, starting industries, undertaking travels, etc.”

Mishra – Mixed: “They are favourable for activities like worshiping, fire ceremonies, purchasing furniture and electronics.”

27 Nakshatra Basics:

27 Nakshatra Basics:

Nakshatra Animals Nakshatra Basics


Horse: Dark Gray, Elephant: Green, Sheep / Goat: Maroon, Serpent: Yellow, Dog: Brown , Cat: Orange, Rat: Grey, Cow: Blue, Buffalo: Indigo, Tiger: Dark Orange, Deer / Hare: Cyan, Monkey: Purple, Mongoose: Navy, Lion: Gold

Horse: “Ashwini represents the male horse which is a very compelling animal. It shows strength, virility, and freedom. The female horse can be cranky and territorial, Satabhisha nakshatra has similar behaviour.”

Elephant: “The male elephant is the animal of Bharani. It is known for its sensuousness and gentleness. They are the epitome of honour, status, and respect. As for female elephants, it bestows the person with grandeur yet the person is not aware of their own importance. The planets in Revati nakshatra also depicts the same as it depicts the female elephant.”

This is debated in the Bharani video by the Pai Team, as the Female Elephant is known to be incredibly protective, and elephant groups are matriarchial (a female leader). So many astrologers say Bharani is a female elephant and Revati the sweeter as a male. It may have been given the other way traditionally to reflect that males are generally considered more dominant than women, though this is not true of elephants.

Sheep / Goat: “Krittika, the nakshatra with the animal goat is both curious and agile. The people of this nakshatra are very daring. Along with Krittika, Pushya is the female goat who has the same characteristics indicating that they are bound to break boundaries out of curiosity.”

Serpent: “The male serpent, the animal of Rohini is known to be very silent and dormant. They can be dangerous when provoked and watchful of their surroundings. On the other hand, the animal of Mrigasira is female serpent which is the symbol of fertility.”

Dog: “A female dog can be very loyal and fierce. As it is the symbol of Ardra, the people of this nakshatra can be both these things. Mula represents the male dogs who apart from being loyal and intelligent can be ferocious, if provoked.”

Cat: “Male cats are the animal of Punarvasu Nakshatra, and can really sleep for long hours yet have high sexual activity. This indicates a passive and procreating ability. Ashlesha symbolizes the female cats who are very observant and sensual.”

Rat: “Rat the representative of Magha exhibits aggressive behaviour when threatened. The planet in this nakshatra might behave in a way to fight for power and establishment. Purva Phalguni, having the female of this animal as its attribute can be very productive, but also look for comfort and luxury in their life.”

Cow: “The male cow can be passive but yet become more dominant as it grows up. The male cow of Uttara Phalguni shows the same nature as they passively become dominating as they grow up. Uttara Bhadrapada, on the other hand, represents the female cow and has a lot of maternal qualities.”

Buffalo: “The female buffalo representing Hasta nakshatra are in general affectionate, attentive, and fiercely protective of their calves. The people of Swati Nakshatra may always feel the need to move around which is exactly what the male buffaloes are like.”

Tiger: “Chitra nakshatra behaves the same way as a female tiger who has a sense of amiability in relationships and an attitude of sharing. The male tigers represent Vishakha. They have a daring and curious attitude who likes to move into unknown places.”

Hare / Deer: “Female deer are highly inquisitive, gentle, alert, family-oriented and loving. The people of Anuradha nakshatra are of the same quality. The male deer are representative of Jyestha showing similar nature to female deer in addition to being territorial.”

Monkey: “Monkeys are very intelligent animals as we all know. Purva Ashadha is very vocal and creates very strong bonds. The female monkey is a lot like the male ones and the people of Shravana nakshatra shows similar nature.”

Mongoose: “A lone animal among the pairs of animals, people of Uttara Ashadha nakshatra like their solitude and find difficulty in adjusting with others.”

Lion: “A male lion is a very territorial animal. It has great commanding powers and an ability to instill fear in others. The Nakshatra of Purva Bhadrapada also has the capability to do the same. The lion is called the king of the jungle and has the greatest share. Dhanishta nakshatra, as the female counterpart, allows natives to earn more than their shares.”

27 Nakshatra Basics:

27 Nakshatra Basics:


Nakshatra Gana

Qualities of the Nakshatras

Animals Of All 27 Nakshatras And What It Represents – Part 1

Animals Of All 27 Nakshatras And What It Represents – Part 2

27 Nakshatra Basics:

error: Content is protected !!